Independence. L39

Do we put too much emphasis on self-reliance and independence, and are we afraid of admitting that we need other people in our lives? Well, I think nowadays most people very proudly say, “I am now independent and can now support myself!” But the true fact might be that we actually are dependent on others, maybe not excessively dependent, because that might not be too mature, but still, we are definitely not totally independent. Also, being totally independent is not very desirable.
Everyone has a time when the highly dislike (hate) someone. Whether it be your classmate, boss, little brother (aww), teacher, or anyone else, we all don’t really enjoy some people at times. But without all those kinds of people, the world wouldn’t be as it is because then there wouldn’t be many jobs, the school might end because there are not enough teachers, or that there are not enough children. I’m not saying that being bad is encouraged (it is not), but we are definitely not independent. Like you might be dependent on your best friend to not tell a secret, or maybe you might be dependent on your boss because he is letting you stay at the job.
Yes, I, at times really, REALLY, dislike some people. Sometimes some kids/people get really annoying so that you can’t bear them. And many kids also hate school, because then they can’t stay at home and play games. But without school and the teachers, there wouldn’t be jobs for when you grow up, and without a job, you will never be financially independent. So sometimes, we just have to be unselfish enough to recognize our interdependence. So for now, just enjoy the fact that the teachers need you to get money.
I think that it is important to make sure that we aren’t selfish enough to think that we can live independently, without other people in our lives. Yes, the Swiss Family Robinson book is great to read, and survival skills ARE important, but it still is important to have other people in our lives. It’s what makes us as we are.
4 thoughts on “Independence. L39

  1. Hi. Hello. I really like the way you write, it’s so sincere and confident. I just started my new Blog Page and I really like to learn from a lot of people, and I hope that it’s okay if I follow your writings, and maybe you can follow me back, then maybe we can talk about our writings together. I hope that we can be friends. Thanks!

    Like

  2. I agree. No one can really stand on their own, I mean, a lot of people became successful because of other people’s help as well, I think it’s safe to say that we shouldn’t forget those people who were there for us, who believed in us, who picked us up when we started breaking ourselves. I think we always need to be grateful for whatever we have, someone died for us to get to where we are right now.

    Like

Leave a Reply

