Snap Judgements or Methodical Ones? L51

Are snap judgments better than decisions to which people give a lot of thought? Hmmm, most of the time, when our gut/instincts tell us something, it usually is right. But of course, making quick gut actions is not always the best idea. If you are making extremely important decisions, you shouldn’t just answer right away. Usually, it is best to weigh the pros and cons first.
For example, if I was in the forest hiking and realized I was off the trail and lost, it would definitely not be the best decision to decide to start running in one direction, hoping that I would reach civilization because my gut tells me so. It would be best to run over what I have on me, do the STOP acronym, and also to think about where I think the trail is. Then I could slowly start figuring out what I should do and not lose my wits and act immediately.
On the other hand, if I was biking with my friends, and one of them falls, it definitely would not be a good idea to first go like, “Are you okay? Let me think… Oh yes, I think you are hurt, let me put my bike down and think about this a little. “ I definitely should not rush the occasion, but I should be fast and help my friend after I made sure that everything was safe. Then, depending on the seriousness of the injury, I could deal with it and maybe get someone to call 911 or my family’s number.
Snap judgments may be right sometimes, but I think that we should think about our decisions a little bit before we jump right into them. Of course, don’t take too long!
Leave a Reply

