My 1st Semester of Gr. 8 Finished…

This semester I have learned many things in English class. I have gone through almost half of the year, and have been getting much better at writing. During this semester I’ve read many books, learned about writing and literature, and also using those skills in actual writing. From mind maps to research papers, I have done and learned a lot this year. My lessons were like this. First 4 lessons of the week would be learning and writing. The final day of the week would be a big review of everything, and also writing a longer assignment.
The first books I read this year were, “20,000 Leagues Under the Sea” by Jules Verne, and, “A Tale of Two Cities” by Charles Dickens. 20,000 Leagues Under the Sea is about Professor Aronnax and his buddies Ned Land, and Conseil. They get captured by a mysterious man called Captain Nemo, and they explore the depths of the sea in an extremely advanced submarine. A Tale of Two Cities is about a little girl who was thought to be an orphan. Later in the book, she manages to find her father who was stuck in the ground, and she manages to save him. Then the friend of her father’s friend gets taken in prison for storming the french prison, the Bastille. What happens next is for you to find out!
This was read in 20 lessons, and during those lessons, I learned about Mind Maps, Outlines, and Paragraphs. The first week was on getting back into the swing of writing, doing 1-page essays every day. The next week was on Mind Maps. I would practice them every day and on the final day turn one of them into a 2 paged paper. In the third week, I was practicing Mind Maps and Outlines. And on the final day, I did the Mind Map, Outline, and Essay on the weekly book. In the final week, I learned about writing paragraphs and wrote a 5 paragraph essay with a mind map and outline.
In the next 20 lessons, I read, “Out On the Pampas” by G. A. Henty, and, “The Scarlet Pimpernel” by Emma Orczy. Out On the Pampas is a good book about a family trying to survive in a new western territory they just bought. The family gets attacked by Indians, and they manage to fight through and survive with a good house and good crop! The Scarlet Pimpernel is a book that takes place in the French Revolution, the same time that the book, “A Tale of Two Cities” took place in. It is about a smart English man who is known as the Scarlet Pimpernel. He attempts to save his friends, all when he is being tracked down by French Authorities. His wife tries to inform him, and at the end, they all meet together in a fight of wits…
In the first week, I wrote longer papers and worked every day on a 5-page paper, and the final day of that week I finished the 5-page paper. The week after that, I was doing grammar and checking every day. For the final day, I wrote a 3-page essay. Then the next week I learned to write even more specific essays that required a lot more though every day, and for the review, I did a 3-page essay on a prompt. For the final week of those 20 lessons I did time and prompted essays. For the review, I did a 30 min, full writing assignment for a 2 paged paper
The next 20 lessons, I read, “With Clive in India” by G. A. Henty, and “Uncle Toms Cabin” by Harriet Beecher Stowe. With Clive in India has tons of excitement in it because it is about a young man who goes to war through multiple adventures and gains great respect. He has an ultimate goal, and after much hard work manages to achieve it. Uncle Toms Cabin is about a family who takes a very good care of their servants. But because of their debt to someone, they had to give away two slaves. The book is about those two lives after they have been in the good household. I love the book, and happily, the ending is very good!
I started learning about book reports and started to work on one. In the Review, I did my first book report this semester. For the next week, we did the same thing, writing a book report, expect this time we had more of a choice. The third week we learned about Book Reviews. So we work up to it and finished one on the last day. The last week, I did a comparison book review, I took notes on books, and did quite a bit of prep. So for the review, I posted a 5-page book review.
For the final 20 lessons, I read the book, “Pride and Prejudice” by Jane Austen. The book is pretty good, but it is not really my “type” of a book. It is about romance and a family whose girls are trying to find the right one for them. The last 20 lessons of the first semester I learned about Research papers and finished the first half of one for the first week. The second week I learned how to write bibliographies and the MLA and APA formats. I managed to finish the final draft of the paper on the review. Then I wrote a research paper all over again, but this time I got to choose a historical topic. I finished the Rough Draft on the Review, and Finished it and the Bibliography on the week after that!
This semester has been really great, and I really enjoyed it. I’ve learned a lot of things, and I’ve read many books. I thank my teacher Bradley Fish for working so far, and I am excited for the next semester!
Leave a Reply

