Rough Draft of Chapter 3: Aboard!

After Frank had been to the Doctor’s office, the Doctor took Frank to his home. Frank entered their house all messy with bandages all over his back, but no one in that household cared. Frank soon felt at home and had his first full meal in more than 12 years.

“Oh dear!” said Frank, “I must have trespassed on your time, I should be going now.”

“No, it’s ok, you have nowhere to sleep, and even if you do have money with you, you will have to stay here overnight.” Insisted the Doctors wife.

So Frank stayed at the Doctor’s house overnight, and when he was about to leave in the morning, he had a good Peanut Butter and Jelly sandwich with some coffee. They also gave him a pretty heavy bag to keep.

Frank decided to look at the commercials first and saw that a general helper was needed for a grocery store, so he checked in there.

“Hello, how are you doing today sir? What do you want?” came from the Cashier.

“Umm, hello, I saw your advertisement for a young man to help this store?”

“Yes, who are your parents?”

“I am an orphan sir, I’m afraid I have no parents.”

“Well then, I’m sorry, but we will not be able to accommodate you, just in case you do steal or something, we won’t have anyone to refer to. Any guardians?”

“I’m afraid not Sir, well then if that’s so, I’m afraid I’ll have to find a job at another place. Do you know any other places which might be needing a helper?”

“Well, it depends on you. Have you ever been on a boat?”

“Yes, I don’t get to very often, but when I do, I love it. I also learned how most boats worked. If that would be any help.”

“Great, well then go to this address at 3:00, and I’ll meet you there and we will figure it out then okay?” the Cashier said, handing him a card.

“Thank you, Sir! I will be there!”

Frank was very happy, and right on time, at 3:00, he was there at the door. Now he was afraid that the cashier might not answer the call because he waited for 5 minutes, but after 5 minutes the Cashier opened the door.

“Whew, sorry! I didn’t expect you to be this early! And no,” as Frank was about to apologize, “don’t apologize, it’s a good habit to be early, and it is my fault.”

“Anyway, meet my uncle, John,” he introduces to Frank, “He is the captain of a Merchant ship, and needs more strong people on deck to help with the guns and the rigging of the ship!”

Frank shocked, asked, “Guns?”

“Oh yeah, Civil War has been declared, and where my Uncle ships, there might be a mishap or two with the Confederates. It won’t really matter, though.” Replied the cashier.

“Well, great, I’m ready if I can go!” Said Frank.

John liked the looks of Frank and wanted to know a bit about him, so he asked, “So, where are you from?”

“Well, nowhere really except for the Orangewood Orphanage… I’m homeless.”

“Oh, are you interested in trading? We will be doing a lot of that.”

“Yes, I am. The only problem is the I’m not that great at math,” said Frank, “you see, I was thoroughly instructed in reading and writing, but I’m just no good at math.”
“Oh, I see. Well if you want to become big when you grow up, you should learn math… I now! I will lend you a book, and you will be able to take a course on simple math. It is used, but I hope you will be fine about that. It was Alice’s.”
“Alice?’ Questioned Frank.
“Yes, my daughter.”
“All right! Thank you!”
“Well, you’re hired, we leave on Wednesday. I’ll give you a list of what you will need, sufficient funds to buy them, and enough to keep you till then. Bye!”
“Thank you! Bye!”
So Frank left happy, knowing that he got a job. Hungry, he looked into his bag, and with surprise, found enough sandwiches to feed him for a week, together with 100 dollars. His mouth opened so wide, that he nearly broke his jaw.
“WHHAAATT!” He thought out loud, “WOOOW!”
He bought everything a needed and was told that he would be provided a musket. He went on board and met his roommates, Mark, Harold, and Gram. They went off and his journey started!
Leave a Reply

